A Matter of Conscience

Athena Maia

While reading for a close friend a very personal issue (of his) came out. I feel quite guilty to be in possession of this knowledge, as it is none of my business. And though I will not share this knowledge, it does trouble me. Maybe if someone had been in a similar position they could tell me how they handled it? I am quite new to tarot, and this is my first time in this position.

Thanks for your help..
Blessed Be

balenciaga

Just keep it to yourself.
As a tarot reader you will become privy to everyone's private stuff. Some of it is pleasant, but most of it is not. There will be a lot you won't want to know (wish you never knew). It happens to all of us because it comes with the territory (like psychotherapists). Personally, I detach myself from others when I read. I really don't want to embrace the info; I just want to pass it along for the benefit of the querent - the info speaks to them.

Athena Maia

thanks a lot for that..it was somewhat distressing for both of us, particularly as it included a mutual friend. but its not nearly enough to make me give up reading, so i guess as long as i keep my mouth shut all is well.

thanks again

Sinduction

Yes, I agree. For me, the same confidentiality rules apply.

Of course, now I don't remember anything at all after I read for people so it's easier to keep quiet! :D

The surprising ones from friends are the worst though. I try my best to forget things like that if at all possible. But I'm one of those with an awful memory and I fear I may let things slip because I forget it's supposed to be a secret. Not that I'm a gossip, I mean like when I see that person again and ask them how something is working out, only to remember once the words come out that it was a secret.