How do I start doing readings for other people?

Richard Pickman

I have been studying tarot for about eight months. I feel that I am getting a fairly good idea of what most of the cards are about (with a few exceptions).

I have done a number of readings for myself, using three cards, five cards, and a couple times the Celtic Cross. I have not yet done a reading for anyone other than myself, but I think that I am ready to try.

I keep a tarot journal which I was using a lot at first, but less so more recently. I think I may have to start doing some readings to "take it to the next level". I don't want to just keep doing readings for myself.

Here's the thing... how do I find people to read for? I'm a 55 year guy; I'm hesitant to ask people that I know, fearing they might think I've gone off the deep end. I did mention it to one of my friends, but he seemed very hesitant about the topic of tarot in general.

I have a 20 year old son; like me, he is an artist/musician-- I told him I was getting into tarot, and he was cool with it. I gave him a Rider-Waite deck, which he has been looking at. He has said that he would let me do a reading for him, but like most kids, he is always busy (he lives about 15 minutes away).

I have another friend I mentioned it to; he has actually used the cards in the past, but kind of got out of it. Still, he was pretty excited that I was interested in tarot. Unfortunately, he lives kind of far away; I rarely see him.

What about sitting at a coffee shop and studying my cards, to see if anyone would approach me? Good or bad idea?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks--

Richard

214red

Hi, here is a good place to find people to practise on, and the good thing about reading for people online is that you can take your time .

i had my first expercience reading for people that were not readers themselves by sitting in a tarot circle in a pub and people got curious and came and asked for readings.