Making music from Tarot

Rob

I'm a musician in my spare time and I studied music in college. I had a thought while driving home today. It seems there has always been much discussion about what type of music people enjoy while reading the tarot, but here's another perspective!

Some authors like to use the Tarot to frame a story, since the characters and plots in the story can be well represented by the archetypes and worldly issues raised by the cards.

It stands to reason, then, that if you can write music to tell a story, you could use Tarot cards to write music!

If you look at such baroque and classical examples of music scores written to tell a story, like Bach's Magnificat or the Mozart's score to Le nozze Di Figaro, the themes of the music (and even instruments used) are molded expertly around the archetypes of the characters. A Fool character might have a happy, carefree melody in a major key composed of piccolos, where as a sorcerer (Magician) might have deep, sweeping minor lines in strings and brass, an epic sound. On another level, the suits and numbers could correspond to key signatures or scale degrees, or numerology can be employed to reduce the numbers on the cards down to chords!

You could even apply this concept to popular music, which also tends to contain specific archetypes, often related to love and relationships, war, and problems of the 21st century.

My question is ... are there any musicians out there who have used the Tarot to assist them in writing music? If so, what were your experiences? Do you think a random draw of several cards could be enough to bring together a whole symphony? A whole rock album? If the Tarot is a focus for your intuition, could it be a focus for extracting your musical creativity and getting past musical "writers block?"

I plan to try it myself soon and explore many of these questions. :)

rwcarter