Aid in learning...

Nocturnica

I am a pixel artist (computer art drawn pixel by pixel). I recently purchased my first Tarot deck and want desperately to learn all I can.

I was wondering if creating my own deck (just for personal use of course) may help me to learn more about the deck. I was thinking, of doing a study on each card, the meaning... and creating my own card that I could relate to. Do you think this would help me to learn or would this be a waste my time that I could be learning more some other way.

re-pete-a

All things change , and further down the track so will the home made ones change, in understandings.

By all means make a set, they may be just what is needed to awaken your talents.
Also ,On the other hand, do get into the traditional Tarot of your choice, there's a wealth of interesting information which will definetly alter your present views and enhance your designs.

Whatever works for you is fine, as long as it, they, open the doors to your inner self.

Enjoy the journey, but dont forget to 'show an tell' the others here.

ana luisa

By all means go for a deck of your own!! It will help you "bond" with the images and awaken your intuition even more. Now, if you feel you have time on your hands, get a look at some books that give you the basics about the cards. I would never give up on my hunches but having a "scaffolding' system does help sometimes. These two are excellent, fun and easy to read:

Tarot Plain and Simple by Anthony Louis
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Tarot by Mark McElroy

Enjoy the ride :)

Rob

I don't think it'd be a bad idea to make a deck based one of the traditional decks like the RWS. In fact, in the process of doing so, you would have to do a very careful inspection and analysis of the artwork even to directly copy it, which would give you a detailed understanding of every element that went into the drawings. I can't see it hurting in any way.

Nocturnica

Thank you everyone for your replies thus far.