Are there tarot teachers in the UK?

etherial dreams

Hi guys,

I started learning how to read the tarot on my own last year but didn't even get through learning the cards and I gave up. There were too many books with too many different meanings. Is there any way I could have one to one lessons with a teacher?

Moonbow

Most Tarot readers would be happy to help you learn although I would advise a bit of caution in that you will be learning a Tarot method that 'they' use, which is not always the best method for you. In a way I support learning it yourself, that way you will use the decks and systems that you have a connection with and will not be swayed by someone else's meanings. You will then have the option to discover the side of Tarot which you personally are interested in without having someone else's baggage to try and forget or adapt.

The reason that Aeclectic is a good place to learn is because its eclectic... hence the name. Read everyone's ideas and methods, try to understand all of them, and then..... make your own mind up.

finaflight

Someone in the forum told me the best way to teach yourself Tarot is to live each card.

It was suggested that I pull three cards a day and watch how they play through my day.

This method helped me quite a bit.

gregory

And there are links here (under the button "learn" ;)) that will help when you are stuck to find a thread.....

Welcome, by the way :D

avalonian

I have an idea how you feel as I too, became completely addled by the books and various meanings, and when I started I did not have internet access and so could not get at this marvellous forum.

In one of the many books I later read the recommendation that you "put the books away and go through the deck writing down what you think the card means", which is really good advice that I wish I had received earlier.