Music

MysticHope

this should be pretty fun for everyone to partake in :). I'm just curious what type of music (if you do use music) gets you in 'the zone' during readings an/or meditation.

The more specific you are the better! i.e. genre, artist.

me...i listen to classical music sometimes...ambient music is always nice...but my favorite Enya!

Alta

I also like Enya for calming, those repeating rhythms, the circularity of her music is great. I also listen to a CD of mantras which is incredibly calming (downstairs somewhere, I'll try and get back with specifics later). During actual reading I rarely have music playing though, too easily distractable. :)

sweet_intuition

Swan Lake - Tchaikovsky

Brilliant beyond words

gregory

I like Enya lots. But I don't read to music.

I think it is partly that as a music graduate, I can't just let it pass me by as background; so things about it will hook me in - as words do if there are people talking in the same room. Like "there's that leitmotif again" and "interesting modulation; wonder how he will get back" - I just can't escape it. I don't mind - but it means that it is too distracting.

If I were to use anything, I guess I would get one of those CDs with water sounds, trees in wind etc on.....

canid

I like Enya, but I like Clannad better. They're a Celtic band, inspiring to me. Puts me immediately in the 'zone'. They did a lot of the songs in The Last of the Mohicans. Or Peter Gabriel, although very spiritual, it sometimes distracts me because I'm paying more attention to the song.

firefrost

And I thought I was the only person in the world who liked Orinoco Flow.

As for reading - if it's at night, I shut myself off from everything, as there's usually family round me and a telly on. During the mornings when I'm alone, I love the silence.

Astraea Aurora

gregory said:
I like Enya lots. But I don't read to music.