what a wide array of decks

piscesdreamer

I'd say i'm a student of esoteric studies.I've mostly been impressed with 4th way approaches but have also read about cabala,alchemy,different schools of magic,and other occult and spiritual paths.I'm currently reading the book by Robert m.place: history symbolism and divination.At this point in my understanding i definitely think some esoteric knowledge was trying to be passed down through the cards.But being a traditionalist i take issue when something deviates so far from it's origins or roots.You start with the Italian,then the french decks...whatever if any esoteric knowledge that was meant to be communicated did so at the end of that process,in Marseilles.though i appreciate the rider smith deck,i wonder how much in the way of the original meanings of the trumps had been lost at the time of that reinterpretation.Now all these new decks on the market place from the kitchy to the arcane are just reinterpretations of long lost meanings and sometimes just fanciful thinking.i don't doubt that the tarot archetypes are profound and try and communicate higher knowledge,but when something deviates so far from it's source it loses power and authenticity.

Sphinxmoth

*any* deck is only as worthwhile as the person reading it

NorthernTigress

Maybe you should go take a look at the "When does tarot stop being tarot?" thread.

piscesdreamer

NorthernTigress said:
Maybe you should go take a look at the "When does tarot stop being tarot?" thread.