how long do you give a deck that isn't very accurate?

olivia1

How long do you keep trying to work with a deck ( that doesnt give very good results) until you trade it in for another? A few weeks ago I bought a new deck and I dont think it is working for me. At first it seemed to give fairly accurate results but then ( after the first couple of readings), things seemed to be either hit or miss.

At first I figured that the reason my readings were so inaccurate was because I am new to using tarot cards and probably did not fully understand what the cards were trying to say. but last night I did a reading and the reading was so off. I asked the cards if I was going to see my boyfriend that night and I got the impression that i wouldnt because the outcome was 3 of swords and the near future card was the towers ( i used the celtic cross, by the way). Well, not only did I get to see him, we also had a wonderful time. Now I feel cheated because I trusted this deck...ive made a few decisions based on what I think the deck has tried to tell me.

Now i want to get a new deck but since I am new to all of this, I was wondering if maybe I am being too hasty? Does everyone go through a period like this before getting accurate results? The deck I have is the Universal Waite ( which i got because I heard such wonderful things about it).

I have tried sleeping with the deck under my pillow because i heard it helps you bond with the cards but I am not sure if its working for me. Is it too early to trade this deck for a new one ( perhaps The Golden Tarot, which I saw at Barnes and Noble)?

tarotmama

I think it's probably too early.

Questions like the "will you see your boyfriend tonight" aren't really great questions to ask the tarot anyway. You might get more accurate results if you use it to try to gain insight into your situations rather than predict specific events.