Best way to ship decks?

autumnsdaughter

I tried to search for this, but couldn't find an old thread... so I am preparing to send out several decks tomorrow, both within the US (where I am) and internationally. As this is my first time shipping tarot decks specifically, do any veterans have some advice? I want to do this right! :D

Specifically, I'm wondering about packaging- what sort of boxes, bubble wrap, packing peanuts, etc do you use? What is the best deal for the safest/fastest delivery?

Thanks all in advance!

Grizabella

I just put them into a padded mailer and mail them off. I've had great success just doing that, even overseas. You can send a deck to the UK, Portugal or elsewhere for about $3 that way by first class and it will get there within about 5 days. If you're really concerned about damage to the box, wrap it in a layer of bubble wrap but I haven't found that necessary.

I've also mailed multiple decks by taking one of the flat rate envelopes, taking the decks out of their boxes, and then just mooshing them all together out flat-ish in there. You can flatten the small boxes and stick those in, too. Of course, the recipient then has to separate the cards out into the individual decks, but if saving on postage is an issue, then it's a good way to go.

Sinduction

If doing the padded mailer, as I do, I recommend putting the whole deck in a zipper plastic bag. I once got a deck in the mail that had been ripped open by the postal machines and all the cards were loose, the deck box had opened up. So if you seal it in a bag there's a bit of extra protection.

I usually go first class mail as it gets there within 3 days. Priority is usually the same time but for more money.

I sometimes insure the packages but really only if it's an oop deck. And I rarely do delivery confirmation. But I always do the two of them together, if I do one, I do the other as well.