Using 'historical decks' with clients

BrightEye

I am by no means a professional reader. I would like to be but haven't quite figured out how to combine it with my other profession (I would like to keep the two separate).

Anyway, I was wondering if any of you use 'historical decks', such as Vacchetta, Mitelli, Sola Busca, or Ancient Minchiate for sitters in face-to-face readings. If you do, how do people take to them? And if you don't, why don't you?

Umbrae

Is the focus really on historical or non-scenic pip decks?

I often use a Swiss 1JJ or a Soprafino reprint (and if I'm in a really wacky mood, I'll bring out the Dussere Dodal). Sitters react just fine.

afrosaxon

I've noticed that my clients tend to like the unusual, the different...they like my off-the-wall decks like the NOVT and Deviant Moon and, once it arrives, I'll break out my Tarot de Pumariega. That difference can be your edge, what sets you apart from other readers and part of why people would come to you versus the reader down the street.

Of course, if you're not comfortable with a deck (any deck), being different isn't going to help you. :D

Just my $.02.

T.

BrightEye

Umbrae said:
Is the focus really on historical or non-scenic pip decks?

I often use a Swiss 1JJ or a Soprafino reprint (and if I'm in a really wacky mood, I'll bring out the Dussere Dodal). Sitters react just fine.
I meant reprints of historical decks. I would class reprints of the 1JJ Swiss and Soprafino as historical.

afrosaxon said:
That difference can be your edge, what sets you apart from other readers and part of why people would come to you versus the reader down the street.
That's a good point. Thanks!

nisaba

BrightEye said:
Anyway, I was wondering if any of you use 'historical decks', such as Vacchetta, Mitelli, Sola Busca, or Ancient Minchiate for sitters in face-to-face readings. If you do, how do people take to them? And if you don't, why don't you?
Yup.