When reading for other people

edie605

I am fairly new to tarot and mostly do readings for myself. They are pretty accurate but i would not know this is i was reading for someone else.When you do readings for other people do they have to shuffle the deck themselves? What are some methods you guys use when reading for other people?

Gennai

Hi Edie,
I do phone readings. Usually I shuffle the deck and then lay them face down on my table, and then I select a number of cards that I am drawn to. Sometimes I then use a spread, or fan the cards I draw, or sometimes if I've chosen 9 cards, I'll lay them out in 3x3. What has recently fascinated me is watching a few tv psychics who draw a card and then lay them down in an adhoc circle, piling more cards on top.

Alta

Using a spread, that is with positional meanings, helps keep you oriented. Fewer things to worry you when uncertain.

Jyscal

If the person is physically in my presence, i prefer for them to shuffle the deck, and choose the cards themselves, although sometimes if it's someone new i'd rather do it myself as i'm not sure how they would handle the deck. If i'm reading for someone who is'nt, i like to have some sort of connection open, like on the phone, internet etc, and try and focus on and try pick up and make a connection to their energy while i'm shuffling and laying out the cards. This way i can focus on their question, and still mabye pick up one or two other things that may be an unknown factor or something else that's on the back of their minds. If the situation allows, i'll try explain the different spreads i feel comfortable with and then to start off with have them choose one that they think sounds interesting, or if they're not sure or insist i choose, it would be one that best suits the question.

Annabelle

It depends on a lot of variables.

Some querents will just reach for the cards naturally. Some will shy away.