Why Tarot Cards Take For Ever To Creat

Golden Moon

Ok, I don't know if this topic goes under Talking Tarot, nor do I want it to sound like a stupid question, but why do the illustrators take forever to make tarot cards? I've read that the creator of The Deviant Moon (spelling) to 20 to 25 years to make his tarot cards, why is that? Anyone care to explain?

When I say "Why Tarot Cards Take For Ever To Creat" I don't mean on the publishing, printing and distribution.

Thanks alot.

Lilija

I'm no artist, but I live with one, so I might have a bit of observational insight...

As far as I know, they're not doodling little pictures on card stock. Each card is a full piece of art, whatever the medium. Multiply that by 78-81ish (title cards, backs, etc...) It's filled not only with centuries of symbolism, but with life, and detail, and layers and layers of medium. Never mind all the re-dos, late add ons, and final tweaks. Then once they're created, they have to go through the lengthy process of publication, whatever that entails (getting paintings into card form, finding a company, networking, writing the lwb, and or companion books)....plus a mess of stuff I haven't even probably considered.

My resident artist has been working on one of his painting for well over a year, and he's not close to done.

Ars longa, vita brevis.

Golden Moon

WOW thanks alot Lilija. It's kind of like making a motion picture or a CD album. Darn. Now I know why some artist stick to Oralce Decks most of the time.

Thansk alot Lilija. :)

Lilija

You're welcome! I'm sure real artists will chime in with more on the subject, it's just my limited view on it :) Glad I could be of some help.

FatesLady

The Deviant Moon artist spent 20-25 years from CONCEPT to reality. He only spent three years actually drawing (painting?) the cards. Still, it is a lot of work.

Taamar