Overwhelmed!

echo

I'm really new to the study of tarot, and am finding myself rather overwhelmed. I've been reading Learning the Tarot by Joan Bunning, so far it's the only tarot book I've consulted, and have been doing a daily draw where I pick one card each day and try to get to know it. However, it is slow going, and I still feel overwhelmed when I read the book and it talks about how a card's meaning will change depending on the cards next to it in a spread.

I'm aware that this knowledge will come in time, but was wondering if anyone had some suggestions for things I can do to learn the card meanings, or for other books I should look into.

Many thanks!

SkadisPhoenix

Just don't push it, it's something that if you DO push, you'll get more stressed and the knowledge will be harder to find.

One thing that might work for you is making notes about what each image means to you, what they make you think. That way you can use intuition as well as knowledge that you have already picked up. :)

Good luck with it. :)

Sulis

There is no quick way of learning tarot. It's like learning another language and to become fluent in it you need time (lots and lots of time) and practice.

It sounds to me as if you're doing the right thing by pulling a card each day and journalling your thoughts on it.

You could also try learning a bit about numbers and the elements too as that's how the Minor cards are grouped (although Joan Bunning doesn't seem to give you a system to use, just keywords to learn).