Tarotmama's Crochet pouch patterns!

tarotmama

Hi all! Hope it's okay to post this here like this (if not, mods, just remove it!). Anyway, I've become addicted to watching movies on netflix at night and it's nice to crochet while I'm doing that, so I've been working on several tarot pouch patterns and I thought I'd share them all as I get the kinks worked out of the patterns and post them all in one thread.

Now some disclaimers: I am NOT a pattern designer. I've only written out a few patterns before so I will do my best to explain something that doesn't make sense!

I'm happy for you to use my patterns to make bags for yourself/friends/etc. But please don't use my patterns to make bags for sale (because I'm selling them!!).

The first bag is what has become (so far) my IDEAL tarot pouch. It's soft, protective, no fiddly drawstring, decorative, lush, etc., etc. I used a "woven stitch" on the pattern to basically make a wallet type pouch. You could certainly add a button hole easily to this pattern, but I prefer to just wrap a chord around my bag.

I designed this pouch for my Fantastic Menagerie tarot and it should fit smaller decks too. For really tall cards (like the Deviant Moon, for example) it's kind of a tight fit. I can help you change the pattern for it.

I'm using a very soft cotton yarn. I guess you would call it "worsted" weight. It is softer than dishcloth cotton, and not as dense. You could probably use dishcloth cotton, but the bag might be a little tighter.

I use a size G hook. If you want a bigger bag, consider using a H or I.

Pictures are attached at the bottom!

Here's the pattern:

1 - ch 36

2 - sk 2ch, sc in next, *ch1, sk 1 ch, sc in next*, repeat till end, ch2 turn

3 - sc in ch1 space from the previous row, *ch1, sk 1 ch, sc in ch space from previous row* repeat till end (sc in the turning ch2 from the previous row), ch2 turn