Still working on how to handle a caller who wants a "fortune teller" type reading

shelikes2read

Still working on how to handle a caller who wants a "fortune teller" type reading

As I'm still very new to the whole process of phone readings (barely a month into the job), there are still some occurrences that are either brand new to me, or are things I have very little practical experience with.

One of the "very little experience" issues is how to deal with people who want a fortune-teller type reading. When I read cards, I see the images and I start discussing the things that the caller can do to bring about their goals. I got a lady last night who didn't WANT that. She wanted to know about a relationship, but what she actually wanted was a blow-by-blow description of what was going to happen, as if she was a bystander in the relationship process.

As I said, when I do a reading, my normal perceptions when I lay cards out are things like "this is what's going on, and these are the things you can do to bring about what you want to see happen." So this particular caller ended the conversation mid-reading.

I know I can't satisfy everyone, because no one person can do that. And fortunately, I haven't run into a lot of people with that particular mindset. Most people WANT to know what they can do and most people LIKE to be empowered.

But... here is my question. When I do get a caller who wants a fortune teller and not a reader, how can I handle it so even THEY get a reading experience that leaves them with at least some satisfaction? Is there a different way to present what I'm getting from the cards in the reading, a way that's not occurring to me at the moment?