"Seasoning" a new deck?

FadeToWhite

I have heard a lot about different ways to get a new deck in tune with your energies, but like a lot of other metaphysical stuff, there are a lot of different opinions out there and not a lot of agreement. Some sources say to sleep with the cards under your pillow for a few days; some say to do some kind of blessing ritual; some say to put it in a bowl of salt; the list goes on and on.

I have a new deck and I can just FEEL that it's not really in tune with my energy. It just feels like a pack of cards (whereas my favorite deck feels like a trusted friend). Its energy is blank and lifeless. I look at the cards and it's like I'm looking THROUGH them - I don't see anything.

I am open to any suggestions for rituals or traditions, ancient or modern, unusual or conventional - anything. I am new to Tarot so I don't know anything.

-FadeToWhite

gregory

Just - use it. That's all I do.

It's a bit like getting your body back in trim after being sick in bed for a while - it is stiff at first but with practice, it moves !

If incense and smudging and things help, go for them by all means - I just never found they made any difference.

WalesWoman

I'm with the use it, hold it, shuffle it, look at the cards and let your imagination go while you are doing all that.

otherwise for seasoning, I'd use a sprinkle of salt and a dash of pepper, otherwise taro is fairly flavorless.

Unless you like sleeping with lumps under your head, smudging and smoking and all that and believe it helps you read better. Of course saying that, I must admit I do sleep with my cards or next, since the only place I have for them is on the shelves that are the headboard of our bed and a basket of decks beside it.

FadeToWhite

WalesWoman said:
otherwise for seasoning, I'd use a sprinkle of salt and a dash of pepper, otherwise taro is fairly flavorless.