RWS vs Other, for a beginner

Chickadee

So I'm new to tarot as I've said in other threads, and I'm waiting to get my deck, the Legacy of the Divine. Now I looked at about 238942893 other decks before I chose this one, read up on reviews, etc. And one comment kept popping up: that beginners should start with the RWS deck. Personally, I don't really like the RWS deck, it doesn't do anything for me. I really love the Legacy. But should I get the RWS anyway, just to learn the basics of tarot? Does it hinder me in any way if I don't?

Nytebugg

I've never owned a RWS deck. Ones based on the symbolism, yes. I just don't really connect with the RWS and I think it is because of the modern recolorings. i find most of them to be too bright.
I don't think it will hinder your ability to learn. if you are learning from books then you will know your imagery will not match up exactly and you may need to find some of your own meanings as you go.

Chickadee

Yeah, I know. It comes with a good LWB though.

bellathebrave123

I think the RWS is a great deck for beginners. Even better if you have something to compare it with, like you divine legacy...basically I think the RWS is a great platform and overtime I find I just keep coming back to this classic deck

Grizabella

I don't like the RWS either, so I got other kinds of decks but in the end, I finally bought a Universal Waite, which I liked much better and then my learning really picked up speed. The Universal Waite is the RW but just has been recolored more nicely. I suggest that you do get one of those if you can, at least to learn with. I don't think anything really compares for a beginner, even though now I use many other decks.

Brigid

You know it's really funny..
For years I had a really strong dislike for the RWS, and I mean REALLY strong!

Fast forward many years later, I came across a lovely vintage original with the Roses and lilies back, INSTANT love! Totally different feel to it for me.