Reading for Third Parties

FionaT

This topic came up on the professional tarot forum but I didn't want to get the discussion off track so thought I'd post it here.

I'm a professional reader both for my own site and for a psychic site. I have always refused to answer questions about other people who have not given their permission as I feel it is unethical. You know the kind of thing "Can you tell me if my sister's boyfriend is having an affair?" You are 'spying ' on someone without their permission. The site owner is fine with this and always checks with me now beforehand and recontacts clients asking them to rephrase questions!

Early on I didn't know this and did a quick reading for a lady (who was herself a psychic) without her giving permission. I just asked 'Tell me what's going on in X's life at the moment" Afterwards I told her what I had done and the card I pulled for her (which turned out to be totally accurate) but she gave me a resounding telling off and I have never done it since.

What are your thoughts?

nisaba

I'm on her side. If she wanted you (or anyone) to read for her, she would have asked. The fact that she didn't, says something straight away.

FionaT

Exactly! I have never forgotten it.

I also meant to add that I feel if you move the client away from the 'other people' thing it is more empowering to them, although how far we want to go down the road of telling our clients what to do is debatable, but I've found most clients immediately 'get it' and want to rephrase.

shadowdancer

Hi Fiona

I think you will find most here do have that as a sort of personal unwritten (or in my case written up in my code of ethics) rule.

I was never really told about the rights or wrongs of this when I started out, and possibly like you it wouldn't have occurred to me.