Keeping a Tarot Journal

Eyebright

Hi all,

I was wondering if you think it worthwhile to keep a tarot journal. I'm fairly new to tarot and am thinking of starting one. I need some hints and tips though!
What do you put in your journal? How do you structure it/ lay it out? Do you hand write it or do it on your computer?
Any advice you can give me would be much appreciated at this stage!

Thanks,
Eyebright

Hemera

I have been keeping Tarot journals on and off. I always think I should be keeping one but then I never re-read them. So, after 15+ years, I´m still not really sure about where I stand.
I have tried both hand written and computer written (Excel) but I just don´t know. I have a regular Journal and I´ve started to write some readings in that,too.

The thing I do have is a big notebook for spreads to choose from and I find it very useful.

Inthetree

I think it's a wonderful idea! I've never kept a tarot journal, but when I started learning the runes (when I was in college and had no job or kiddos and so lots of free time :) ) I drew three every day and kept a journal of my draws and interpretations. I would come back at the end of the day and write about what happened, much like a diary, and I would try to tie it back to the runes I drew that morning. It's still fascinating to look back through that journal. My interpretations were often way off, but the runes usually knew what they were talking about; and over time I grew very familiar win their subtleties, and my readings became more detailed and accurate. I think this would be a wonderful exercise to use with tarot as well, I just don't have that kind of time anymore :D

amethyst57

it depends; if you want to study card by card, a daily spread, or both...or some other type of study of them...