PDA

View Full Version : I Can't Do Quotes, Change Fonts or Use Smileys


natalie8
07-06-2011, 14:49
Hi all. I'm a member of quite a few forums and I use quotes, smileys and font formatting in all of them. This one is the only one that I can't do that on. :-(

For example, when I give feedback on a reading, I like to use the Quote function, then write my part below the quote. There could be many quotes in a post, as we all know.

I'm using Windows 7 and Firefox.

Thanks for any help.

GreenMoonBeam
07-06-2011, 15:07
Hi all. I'm a member of quite a few forums and I use quotes, smileys and font formatting in all of them. This one is the only one that I can't do that on. :-( What do you do?

For example, when I give feedback on a reading, I like to use the Quote function, then write my part below the quote. There could be many quotes in a post, as we all know. Are you putting the correct symbols... At start if text to be quoted relevant text [/quote close ] So it should look like {quote}cat on the mat {/quote}
Except the usual [ ] / should be there

I'm using Windows 7 and Firefox.

Thanks for any help.

I think it is standard for Windows O/S... Can not comment on mac.

Oops, did not notice about smileys, fonts. There are several threads in this section that show how to do changes. :)
http://www.tarotforum.net/showthread.php?t=134084 Colors
http://www.tarotforum.net/showthread.php?t=157392&highlight=fonts**

**this thread mentions a lot about which version of Firefox. Maybe that contributes too? :)

natalie8
07-06-2011, 15:14
What I do is select the text, then click on Quote at the bottom of the post.

So what you're saying is that I need to type in the slash and the square brackets? OK, let me try that.

Why wouldn't the Quote function work?

GreenMoonBeam
07-06-2011, 15:17
What I do is select the text, then click on Quote at the bottom of the post.

So what you're saying is that I need to type in the slash and the square brackets? OK, let me try that.

Why wouldn't the Quote function work?


Oh, I do it the other way.

I go to the post I want to quote. If it is not the whole lot of text,then the text I want to quote I bracket as I said.

natalie8
07-06-2011, 15:23
Originally Posted by natalie8
What I do is select the text, then click on Quote at the bottom of the post.

So what you're saying is that I need to type in the slash and the square brackets? OK, let me try that.

Why wouldn't the Quote function work?



Oh, I do it the other way.

I go to the post I want to quote. If it is not the whole lot of text,then the text I want to quote I bracket as I said.

Let's see if that worked.

I just saw that you added the links regarding the smileys and Firefox. Thanks.

natalie8
07-06-2011, 15:25
?????????

I copied exactly what you typed and what I saw in another quote that I did.

:-(

GreenMoonBeam
07-06-2011, 15:43
?????????

I copied exactly what you typed and what I saw in another quote that I did.

:-(


Go to your quoted post. Edit : from quote: Only remove : Should quote then

GeorgiePorgie
07-06-2011, 15:44
:[/color]]
Originally Posted by natalie8
What I do is select the text, then click on Quote at the bottom of the post.

So what you're saying is that I need to type in the slash and the square brackets? OK, let me try that.

Why wouldn't the Quote function work?



Oh, I do it the other way.

I go to the post I want to quote. If it is not the whole lot of text,then the text I want to quote I bracket as I said.

Let's see if that worked.

I just saw that you added the links regarding the smileys and Firefox. Thanks.


This one won't work simply because of the extra naughty character that snuck in some how (see the : in red above? )

GeorgiePorgie
07-06-2011, 15:45
See the vbcode instructions here http://tarotforum.net/misc.php?do=bbcode

For every code you use, say the bold = type [ b] (without the spaces) at the start of your bolded text must be finished with the end code ie type [ / b ] (without the spaces)

Wendywu
07-06-2011, 17:14
If you click the "quote" button on any post you'll see that at the beginning of the post being quoted it says:

quote=name of poster being quoted

and has square brackets before and after the words.

at the end of the whole post you are quoting it says

/quote (again, in square brackets).

Now - to split the long post up into lots of short quotes you simply type in more

quote=name (begin and end with square bracket)

and

/quote (begin and end with square brackets)

before and after each separate section you want to quote.

Like this

quote=wendywu (before "quote"and after "wendywu" you put a square bracket)


/quote (remember the square brackets in front and after)

put in your comment

repeat sequence ...




Any extra characters or missing / or [] symbols and it won't work.

Any help?

natalie8
07-06-2011, 19:38
OK, thanks everyone. :-D

I'll come back in in the next couple of hours.

natalie8
08-06-2011, 01:14
If you click the "quote" button on any post you'll see that at the beginning of the post being quoted it says:

quote=name of poster being quoted

and has square brackets before and after the words.

at the end of the whole post you are quoting it says

/quote (again, in square brackets).

Ok, this is a test, LOL

Now - to split the long post up into lots of short quotes you simply type in more

quote=name (begin and end with square bracket)

and

/quote (begin and end with square brackets)

before and after each separate section you want to quote.

Like this

quote=wendywu (before "quote"and after "wendywu" you put a square bracket)


/quote (remember the square brackets in front and after)

put in your comment

repeat sequence ...


Any extra characters or missing / or [] symbols and it won't work.

Any help?

Success!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Woo hoo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Wendywu
08-06-2011, 01:25
Yayyy!!! :laugh:

natalie8
08-06-2011, 01:48
Thanks so much for your patience, Wendywu. Now I have to work on the smileys. ;-)

Wendywu
08-06-2011, 01:55
Easy peasy.

Before you open a "reply box" on a thread, scroll down to the bottom of the screen. There at the right hand side is a little box. One of the links in it says "Smilies are on". CLick that link to open in a fresh tab or window.

It will show you all the possible smileys, and what you need to type to get them to appear :)

Now - code for bolding etc.

Same square brackets as before - same principle, really. You want bold

[b] at the beginning of what is to be bolded and then square brackets and /b when you want it to end.

Or [i] and /i (in square brackets) for italics.

Colors - color=whatever (in square brackets) type text [/color]

have a play ..... that same bottom right hand box has a clickable link saying "Vb code is on" - left click it to open in a fresh tab or window, and you'll get a window showing you the codes and what they do to your text.

natalie8
08-06-2011, 14:39
How does this look?

:cool3: :cool5: :party:

Laura Borealis
08-06-2011, 14:43
It should be [ color=yellow ] [ /color ] (without the spaces inside the brackets)

Sometimes I click on "quote" to see how people do the code for stuff like this. :)

natalie8
08-06-2011, 14:44
Ahh, good tip, laura. Let me try again.

natalie8
08-06-2011, 14:46
did it work? Did it???

Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay!!!!! It's all good now.

:royal:

Tuilirose
28-08-2011, 02:40
Ok, this is a test, LOL

This is also a test. Natalie8, I am SO glad you asked these questions!

Tuilirose
28-08-2011, 02:46
Oh, I do it the other way.

I go to the post I want to quote. If it is not the whole lot of text,[then the text I want to quote I bracket as I said/quote].

Still testing

Tuilirose
28-08-2011, 02:53
[QUOTE=natalie8;2762008]Ok, [this is a test/quote], LOL

hope I can get this to work too

Tuilirose
28-08-2011, 02:57
[QUOTE=natalie8;2762008]Ok, [this is a test/quote], LOL

[/QUOTE hope I can get this to work] too

this time?

Tuilirose
28-08-2011, 03:04
What do you do?

Are you putting the correct symbols... [/At start if text to be quoted] relevant text [/quote close ] So it should look like {quote}cat on the mat {/quote}
Except the usual [ ] / should be there



I think it is standard for Windows O/S... Can not comment on mac.

Oops, did not notice about smileys, fonts. There are several threads in this section that show how to do changes. :)
http://www.tarotforum.net/showthread.php?t=134084 Colors
http://www.tarotforum.net/showthread.php?t=157392&highlight=fonts**

**this thread mentions a lot about which version of Firefox. Maybe that contributes too? :)

still working

poivre
28-08-2011, 03:05
If you click the "quote" button on any post you'll see that at the beginning of the post being quoted it says:

[quote=Wendywu]
repeat sequence ... [quote=Wendywu]

hope this works!




Any extra characters or missing / or [] symbols and it won't work.

Any help?

just trying the [quote] out
thanks for the thead! :D

Tuilirose
28-08-2011, 03:09
[/standard for Windows] O/S... Can not [/comment] on mac.

Oops, did not notice about smileys, fonts. There are several threads in this section that show how to do changes. :)
http://www.tarotforum.net/showthread.php?t=134084 Colors
http://www.tarotforum.net/showthread.php?t=157392&highlight=fonts**

**this thread mentions a lot about which version of Firefox. Maybe that contributes too? :)[/QUOTE]

still working[/QUOTE]

What I am not getting?!

poivre
28-08-2011, 03:23
[QUOTE=Wendywu;2762066]Easy peasy.
[quote=Wendywu]

Before you open a "reply box" on a thread, scroll down to the bottom of the screen. There at the right hand side is a little box. One of the links in it says "Smilies are on". CLick that link to open in a fresh tab or window. [quote=Wendywu]
I'm not trying this until I get the quotes! :D

[quote=Wendywu]
It will show you all the possible smileys, and what you need to type to get them to appear :) [quote=Wendywu]

this is work! :D

Now - code for bolding etc.


omg I'm nuttier than before I seen this thread! :D :confused: :D


QUOTE]

Sulis
28-08-2011, 03:55
What I am not getting?!

The forum uses vb code so it's the same with Mac or Windows and with Firefox, Internet Explorer or Safari (I don't think it matters which browser you're using).

Start a quote with [quote= xxxx] without spaces and end with [ /quote] again without spaces.

Same with any of the vb codes - remember to put the / in at the end.

Tuilirose
29-08-2011, 23:30
The forum uses vb code so it's the same with Mac or Windows and with Firefox, Internet Explorer or Safari (I don't think it matters which browser you're using).

[quote=Start a quote with [quote= xxxx] without spaces and end with [ /quote] again without spaces./]

Same with any of the vb codes - remember to put the / in at the end.

Sounds easy.