PDA

View Full Version : Links to Facebook?

PathWalker
16-06-2011, 03:27
I'm not very technical, so I apologise if I've understood this wrongly - but the links to facebook and so forth - does this mean that someone can link a thread into facebook, with all comments/discussion, even though I don't have a facebook account and wouldn't want to?

I know that when I write in the open part of the forum, it could be read by anyone, if they bothered to come and find it - but this would shove it in the face of people on facebook, without my knowledge or consent?

Is that the gist of it?

If so, is there a way of blocking my posts from being transferred? I don't want my views and writing on facebook, thanks very much :(

Back to the quiet corner for me...

Aerin
16-06-2011, 03:45
I thought it just posted a link to the thread, not the contents of the thread.

WalesWoman
16-06-2011, 03:46
This is a very good question. I do have a facebook account, and "like" or joined FB Aeclectic, but was also wondering about privacy issues having posts or threads shared on Facebook. Does this mean being a member gives implicit permission to have threads shared? I don't know if this is a good idea, I post here because it's a place to talk about tarot... I suppose facebook is as well, but I don't really talk about tarot on facebook, that's not what I have it for.

I have often wished for a "like" button, when I've read replies I really liked but had nothing to offer on the subject.

Wendywu
16-06-2011, 03:47
Yes - it puts a link on your wall. (I had a go, but cancelled before it posted the link - just wanted to see what happened). It doesn't put the thread up, just the link.

The crowned one
16-06-2011, 03:54
And that means people can link my posts( my words) here without my permission if I have posted in a thread they linked, is this correct?

Moonbow
16-06-2011, 03:55
This is a concern for me too. See this thread in Chat if you are a subscriber: