from Tarot to Oracle

tarotcognito

Hi all!

My apologies if I posted this in the wrong forum.

I bought the Fallen Angels oracle and love the cards and images enough that I would like to start using this deck. I've been reading RWS-based Tarot decks for years now but I've never used an oracle deck before, so now I'm finding myself at a bit of a loss as to how to approach this kind of deck. The companion book to the deck is rather on the thin side for my taste - not much information besides the very basics.

So how exactly does one go about using an oracle deck? Is this the kind of deck that is pretty much used only for advice? I'm sorry if I sound like a total ignoramus, but I really have no idea how to approach oracle decks. The companion book to the Fallen Angels Oracle gives several divinatory spreads, including the Celtic Cross, but I just can't wrap my head around the notion of using an oracle deck for spreads that I've always associated with Tarot cards.

In other words: help.

Thanks a bunch!

zannamarie

Tarot is a specific type of oracle deck so if you've been reading tarot, then you've already been reading oracle decks.

How do you read with your tarot (oracle) decks? Strictly by book meanings, intuitively, a mixture of both? Only for advice? Predictively? You can read with any oracle deck in the same manner as you do tarot. I think you may be stuck in the idea that tarot decks are somehow different from oracle decks. When you realize this is not the case, you will find oracle decks easier to read. :)

Just as you may find you "click" more with certain tarot decks with regards to reading with them, you may find the same is true with oracle decks.

What I usually do with a new deck is just start with one card draws. See what on the card draws my eye and look at any LWB meanings to see what jumps out at me. In other words, just practice. :)

MareSaturni

Hi all!

My apologies if I posted this in the wrong forum.