PDA

View Full Version : Calcite

Aithnea
07-08-2003, 09:25
I'm just getting into Crystals and Gems. Recently well I was out with some friends I got a Honey Calcite crystal as my first one. It called to me. Could someone please suggest some other crystals to get and some good links so that I can look them up.

Thank you

gonesavage
07-08-2003, 13:38
*disclaimer: i am still reasonably inexperienced with crystals. but i offer what i can.*

i would recommend getting something for grounding, if energy work is your intention- hematite, tiger's eye, black onyx. there are many.

citrine is a good stone to have around. as is rose quartz. i love herkimer diamonds, but i have to limit how much i handle them as i tend to get a bit spacy if i don't watch it. selenite is interesting as well. if you like calcite, perhaps try fluorite.

knowing your intention will help in selecting a stone. are you interested in energy work to a specific purpose? or just meditating on them? or perhaps you don't have an intention, and are just letting the wind take you... in which case i would recommend handling the stones that catch your eye and letting them pick you rather than the other way around.

i prefer to let the wind take me. but all i do with my stones is hold them and coo at them. (gollum quote deleted to preserve self image).

good luck, and have fun

gonesavage

Aithnea
08-08-2003, 00:30
Thank you so very much. Yes, I'm still new so I don't really know what my intentions are yet. But you have been a great help.

Kyrielle
23-09-2003, 15:10
I suggest going to a rock shop or metaphysical shop where you can see a lot of different stones. Look at them all and check out the ones that you like the look or the feel of. Those would be the best to start with -- the ones you are drawn to.