Better to stick with 1 deck or use several decks in readings?

exxyea

Sorry if this thread came up before. I'm new to tarot in that I just started learning and reading tarot cards in the past month. I've also discovered oracle cards when this professional reader told me that she prefered oracle decks (mainly the Psychic Oracle Tarot deck) over tarot because of the tarot's rigidity and what she felt was dated-ness.

I quite like the RWS deck--I think it's really general and flexible. But I also quite like some oracle decks and their narrower focus. Is it common to have several decks handy at once and incorporate them into a single reading?

Anyway, I'm just wondering if people prefer having one main, go-to deck for readings and alternating decks for different readings or if they prefer to use several decks at once, even in the same reading. Also, just out of curiosity, if you are reading for clients, would you use several decks at once, or would that be seen as unprofessional (that you rely on so many tools instead of having one main deck)?

I'd set up a poll, but there doesn't seem to be an option for that. :) Interested in people's input!

tarotbear

Having more than one deck is a good idea - for variety, for different pictoral values, for differing interpretations about card meanings, etc. You may find that one deck answers certain types of questions better than others for you. Using different decks keeps you and your interpretations from becoming stale.

But - using multiple decks within the same reading? Maybe as an experiment for yourself, but it could confuse the Querent (the person you are reading for.) What will you do if you are doing a reading with three different decks and two of the same cards from all three decks turn up? :joke:

GryffinSong