At What Point Did You Stop Feeling New To Tarot?

RunningWild

I find myself saying it over and over again here on the forum and in my personal world. "I'm still relatively inexperienced..." I hope I'm not just excusing myself in case I read the cards wrong, and even to my own ears it's beginning to sound like I'm telling others to take it all with a grain of salt.

I don't want to label myself as "NEWBIE" forever. :laugh:

So I'm asking all those who've been using the Tarot for years and years...

When did you stop thinking of yourself as a beginner? What was the turning point?

rwcarter

I've been studying the tarot for 20 years now. Although others may disagree with me, I by no means consider myself to be an expert. But I also don't consider myself to be a beginner or a newbie. As the title under my username says, I'm a "student of tarot."

Thinking of yourself as a beginner suggests that at some point you'll be an expert and will know it all (or at least most of it). I know that will never be the case for me, which is why I'm happy to be a student of tarot for the rest of my life.

Grizabella

I think to some extent I'll always feel like a beginner. At least, I hope I will. Because as long as there's a little smidgen of feeling like a beginner there, I'll always know I have more to learn. The point where I think of myself as not being a beginner at all anymore, I could start stagnating. There are many, many people who have way more experience than I do and in comparison, I probably am a beginner and will always be because there will always be those folks way ahead of me. I just sat down recently to really try to figure out on paper how long I've been using the cards. I started in 1998 so that's been about 13 years ago. Compared to some of our members with 30 or 40 years, I'm not much more than a beginner. :)

astronautica