Is my timing correct for trying to read with historical decks?

pacificwaters

I am seven months old in the world of Tarot. I started of with the RWS deck and I think that I am progressing decently day by day. Anyways, recently I was gifted with two decks – the Golden Tarot and the Tarot de Marseilles. I knew that these are decks with a history and have been around from a long long time, probably more than RWS (not sure though). I recently attempted reading with the Tarot de Marseilles (TdM) and I realized that the pips of this deck has no imagery akin to the RWS, so invariably I always used to sub-consciously compare any pip of the TdM with the RWS corresponding card while reading. The key words might be the same, but I know this is not the proper way to read any deck.

The imagery of the TdM and the Golden Tarot is not the way as it is with RWS. Not that I have anything against these two decks, but as a newbie I have become more accustomed to RWS. Is it OK for me to venture into trying to read with these two historical decks or should I stick to RWS till maybe I get a bit more experience and then venture into reading with these? Can the same approach of reading for RWS be applied to the Golden Tarot and TdM??

Sulis

Which Golden Tarot do you mean? I'm thinking of Kat Black's Golden Tarot and that one certainly is RWS based.

As for reading with a TdM.. Why not join the TdM reading circle to get some practice in? I've recently returned to reading with a Tarot de Marseilles myself and I have to say that I'm finding the Minors very expressive and the readings to be flowing...
I think with the TdM a bit of knowledge of numerology helps and a lot of people read these decks by linking the Minors to their numerically equivalent Major...