Stick to RWS or go with the flow with another deck?

exxyea

I'm quite new to tarot, having been studying for only a few months. I started off with the Radiant Rider, and that deck is still the primary deck I use. However, I also have a Legacy of the Divine deck, and I adore the imagery.

I mostly use RWS though because it's the conventional, standard deck that most are based upon. Learning that will make it easier to learn other decks.

However, I have done a reading with the Legacy of the Divine, and the reading process was so different to me. I really love the imagery and I was drawn to aspects of the imagery that influenced how I felt about the card. I felt quite connected with the Legacy deck. With the RWS, it was mostly just knowing what the card stood for. I really like the Radiant Rider pictures but I find the images just aren't as applicable or speak to me.

Having said this, I also realized that I am getting some different interpretations of the cards from the Legacy deck. So what I am curious about is whether I should just go with the flow, just interpret whatever I feel like from the Legacy of the Divine deck, or if I should just stay with the RWS and keep the conventional standard?

Zephyros

the Legacy looks like a really nice deck. But it, and many, many others are based on the RWS decks. In fact, most decks are. There are different systems such as the Thoth and the Marseilles, but most decks today come from the RWS tradition.

In the end though, it's how you feel with the deck, and what you think of it. I personally think it's nice to branch out into different decks, but it's your own choice in the end.

Cassandra022

what about if you did something like lay out the reading with Legacy, interpret it as best you can, then take out RWS, find the same cards, lay them next to the LoD cards and interpret that? You could compare/contrast how the decks read, meanings, etc? might be helpful...

nami