Am I scaring you? [Curious people who seem "scared" of Tarot cards]

Yineth

Edit: Thank you to everyone who left honest advice and comments.

Hello,

I may be posting this in the wrong section (I hope not : /), but I was just curious to hear some feedback about a little situation/repeat "offending" I seem to be doing.

I am currently a full-time student at a University (college, school, etc) and I've been making it a habit to take at least one of my decks to campus with me. I've mostly been doing it to catch up on reading exchanges I have on AT, but also in a minor hope that someone will see me using the deck and ask for a reading (pipe dream xD).

About a month back, I attended a group orientation for a specific lab relating to my college major. All the participants of the meeting were asked to tell something about themselves. I mentioned that my hobby was to read Tarot cards and immediately there was a mixed response. Some people did not know what Tarot was (understandable), another mentioned about a friend who was Wiccan and used the cards (awesome-possum), while one of the hosting members of the orientation seemed very frightened about Tarot cards :)( ).

[Long story short, I gave the "scared" individual a 3-card spread reading in hopes of kind of consoling her/show her that it is not a serious reading. Instead, she got rather more bothered by my pick-up of her Gynecologist appointment the next day through the reading. I think the Tarot reading may have ruined my chance of gaining a position in the lab group >_>]

Another time was when I arrived to class about an hour early and decided to do some quick readings for some AT members. My professor also happened to arrive early that day and became curious to what I was "playing with."