Unable to Read?

iAmRiotEyes

Are some people just not able to read Tarot no matter how hard they try? Because I've got the nagging suspicion that maybe I'm one of those people who just can't get it no matter how hard they study.

I asked my deck at some point and I think it told me this itself.

I'm feeling very frustrated and I'm not sure what to do. Just put the books and deck away and leave it alone? Bleugh.

Glitterbird

It's not something you'll learn overnight, you didn't say how long you've been at it. Seemed like I had been using tarot for a couple of years before it really became second nature. Maybe you should try a different deck.

Ceste

Maybe you just haven't found the right deck yet.

Myrrha

Is it that you don't get any kind of message from the cards or that you are doing predictive readings that don't seem to be accurate? It is a good idea to pay a lot of attention to how you are framing your questions. "what do I need to know about my work situation right now" might get better results than "will I get the promotion?" Yes or No questions don't usually yield good readings.

Are you trying to do readings with too many cards? People try and do the Celtic Cross or even 5-6 card readings and it isn't really helpful.

You could try a two card reading "not this" (card one) "but this" (card two)

Or pick one card and then look at the card on the bottom of the deck as a "context" card.

It took me years to get to where I felt tarot reading is really useful, and I stopped and started again a few times.

EllieP

Hi iamrioteyes (what a lovely name!)