Shuffling... How do you do it?

Bairhanz

I just started learning and using Tarot and I generally do the method where you move cards over/under from one hand to the other a few times, then cut the deck into thirds and reverse the middle stack, re stack them and shuffle with the first method a few times again. I usually do this several times, which unfortunately takes up a lot of my time when I'm trying to do a reading for myself or someone else. It usually feels right though, and I've shuffled for almost 5 minutes before.

How does everyone else shuffle? Any tips on shuffling quicker or more efficiently (including using reversed cards)?

Carla

I don't read reversals so keep all my cards upright. I just riffle and bridge for a while, then for some unknown reason, I do three hand over hand shuffles. Then I cut either in half or in threes. If I were to use reversals, I'd just keep flipping one half of the deck when I split it before a couple of the riffles. Probably alternating which side I flipped.

Grizabella

I never, never, ever, ever bridge my cards. It makes a neat sound and looks neat, but it's horrible for the cards.

However I do riffle----a few done with the backs facing, then another few done with the fronts facing, and so on back and forth for however long I shuffle. My decks always lie perfectly flat by doing it that way and never develop a bow. I never shuffle any way but riffling.

Oh, and I don't use reversals and never have. I just don't like to. There's always a way to know when you need to read a card as reversed without using actual reversed cards, either by surrounding cards, naming a spread position allowing for reversed meanings, or just intuition.

JadoreHauteCouture

Everyday I'm shuffling!... ta-da-da-da-da-da-da. ta-da-da-da-da-da-da