Using a Tip Jar... Pros? Cons? Advice?

Rhoswen

Tomorrow night I'll be reading at a small annual fund-raiser. Last night it was announced that, for the first time, readers may put tip jars on their tables.

A tip jar! So many things to think about...

Am I even comfortable putting one out? good question

What might I find in my home that would work, with little or no added bling?

I'm not good with crafty stuff. I also don't want to run around town spending money to make money.

Should I put a little sign on/in front of the jar? Should it say simply "Tips," or should I add something like "Totally voluntary"? Most folks patronize this fund-raiser because the short readings are at a bargain price; I don't want sitters to feel that they're obligated to spend additional $$$.

Does anyone have experience with this? I welcome your comments and input.

Chronata

I use tip jars all the time...at some events that is all I have!

Depending on the event, the tip jar changes.

Sometimes it's a small gold fish type bowl with "Tips" painted on with a paint marker.

Sometimes I use my blingy fancy mirrored tissue box cover (it looks Victorian and has a hole on top for stuffing in money)

But the problem with that is no one can see what's inside.

And people like to see how much is acceptable to tip...

so I usually use a clear jar with a very visible one dollar bill and a five.

My favorite tip jar is actually a large oversized wine glass, which is beautifully decorated.

The sign I use most often is "Gratuities are Gratefully Accepted"

tarotbear

Go with what Chronata says - just do not put any 'loose change' in the jar, which will make people think about dimes and quarters instead of Ones and Fives.

Also - if you do start racking it in - periodically empty the tip jar so you don't tempt thieves. People should see 'some' money ... also, if people see 'too much' money, they might be less likely to tip well.

Yineth