Cleansing your deck

QueenCup

Last night I did a reading for a friend. I had her meditate on the question while I shuffled and then allowed her to cut the deck. Well today it seems like her reading is getting mixed up in any reading I do. I think it was four cards from her reading that kept coming up in each reading. I have shuffled the deck plenty! Do you think this is just coincidence or is her energy really still in the deck? Perhaps it's because I'm new to tarot but I haven't experienced this problem yet.
I have read about cleansing decks to remove energy but I wasn't sure when I should do this. What are some ways to remedy this problem that are free or inexpensive? I don't exactly have the money for anything like crystals at the moment. Thanks y'all..

Grizabella

The only way you could eliminate having those cards come back up in future readings would be to remove them from the deck altogether and if you did that with all readings for others, you wouldn't have any deck left pretty soon. Obviously there are going to be the same cards showing up no matter what reading you do because there are only 78 cards to work with.

I've never cleansed a deck. I don't feel like it's necessary.

dawntarot

In between every single reading I do, I shuffle the deck and repeat "Clear" in my mind as a mantra. To me this "tells" the deck that we're done with this question now. Then if a card shows up again, I know that a) the cards definitely are well-shuffled, so it's not a coincidence; and b) the cards haven't gotten confused about the question.

I will also repeat "Clear" in my mind if I'm just shuffling randomly, so my everyday thoughts aren't having an undue influence.

This is what I do all the time. I still cleanse my deck using crystals from time to time. You could lay it out in full sun or moonlight as an alternative. Or take a knife and "cut" the air around the deck, freeing it from the previous question... do whatever appeals to you most, basically...

Hope this helps!