Tarot combined with astrology

Melia

I consider myself only an amateur astrologist - I was taught a little by a professional but for the most part am self-taught for 5/6 years. I'm still learning. I sometimes see people asking questions of tarot that 'I think' might be better answered by astrology; so I wonder how many taroists there are who combine tarot with astrology in their readings? What are your thoughts on this, if any? How do you use the 2 together in your readings?

Is there anyone who has ditched tarot completely in favour of astrology?
Is there anyone learning astrology now to supplement their tarot readings and if so, do you have anything to share on your experience/learning?

Edit: I'm talking here of actual charting of birth dates, not just associating tarot card meanings with astrological symbolism.

Fianic

Astrology is highly useful of Tarot.

For decks that have Astrology built into the cards, I find it helps you understand the court cards since each are assigned to a star sign.

The fact that each major is assigned a planet or a star sign as well, really adds to your understanding of the cards.

You can actually do a 12 card horoscope reading by combining the two. I've personally yet to master this as my Astrology isn't up to scratch. But I'd love to add this to my repertoire as it's great for general readings.

The problem with Astrology by itself is that it's so much more complicated that Tarot, that doing an astrology reading takes so much longer than shuffling a deck of cards. Also takes a lot longer to learn than Tarot. So personally I'd never ditch Tarot for Astrology.

Melia

The problem with Astrology by itself is that it's so much more complicated that Tarot, that doing an astrology reading takes so much longer than shuffling a deck of cards. Also takes a lot longer to learn than Tarot. So personally I'd never ditch Tarot for Astrology.