PDA

View Full Version : A Suggestion for Very New Guests

Logiatrix
28-11-2003, 14:10
Firstly, I am aware that suggestions are always easy to MAKE, but not always so easy to make HAPPEN.
My apologies if the following suggestion is superfluous in regards to the structure of the already existing forum.
That being said...
I've been on a few live tarot chat sites lately, where the AT Forum comes up in conversation.
Most people are extremely impressed by our beloved hang-out.
However, one reaction that increasingly comes up is that people are just plain intimidated.
They are mainly overwhelmed with where to start, what to look at, and how to find stuff.
Some say the forum has too much to read through, and that those who post are too advanced for them.
I'd like them to see that there are all ages and experiences here, and that the threads are easy to read through, if you know where to start.
I understand that there is an FAQ to help with such matters, but when I was a newbie here, the forum was much smaller and the FAQ and other stuff was easier to find.
I'm thinking that perhaps a separate page could be available to the guest, with links to some of the more popular threads, offering a sample cross-section of what we discuss.
Clearly, the continual flow of new members demonstrates that plenty of people already know how to join and navigate the forum.
I just wanted to put in a vote for the "easily confused," as I am one of those myself.
:)

Solandia
02-12-2003, 21:55
Hi Tauni,

An introductory tour for newcomers would definitely help those who find the amount of information a bit overwhelming. Great suggestion... I'll see how I can implement it.

~ Solandia

Melvis
03-12-2003, 11:24
Wait...you mean there are other forums besides Aeclectic??!!! }) (Or is it fora? Forii? Oh, bother...)

I'm glad you mentioned this, Tauni. Sometimes I get so comfortable here that I forget what it's like when you first jump on board the colossal Aeclectic Tarot Forum Train!

Great suggestion!