How To Read Horary

LovelyMissAries

I am a very very new beginner to reading Horary charts. From what I've been able to read in between work, school, and friends, we look at the ASC and it's ruler of the chart first. A few questions I have about this: Do we ignore aspects made to the ASC vs. the planet that RULES the ASC? Secondly, if there are planets in the first house, but no Moon or Venus, do they take priority or make better significators instead? I tried googling William Lilly's rules for Horary but didn't come up with anything.

Minderwiz

Strictly speaking the first thing we do is ensure we understand the question, which means we also know not only who asked it but also what the 'subject' matter is, because that determines the house of the 'questied' - the 'thing' asked about.

Once the chart is erected, I usually start with the Ascendant, as that is the house of the person asking the question (the querent). We need a planet to 'signify' her or him and usually that is the ruler of the sign on the Ascendant. Other planets in the first may give us more information about the querent. Very occasionally I might end up using one of them to signify the querent, if the Ascendant ruler also rules the house of the quesited. Saturn in the first and not the Ascendant ruler or the ruler of the house of the querent tends to suggest the Astrologer will get things wrong or the querent is out to test the Astrologer with a duff question.

If the Ascendant ruler aspects the Ascendant by any major aspect, is good but not essential. Otherwise I don't use them too much unless it's something that looks important - such as a close square or opposition from Saturn or an aspect from the significator of the quesited, which suggests there's some connection but it's never strong enough to indicate a successful outcome.