White Hematite???

Majecot

Ok Crystal Experts... A question for you..
I have been carrying around hematite for many many years and never have I come across such a thing as White Hematite.

I ask because as I am surfing EBay.. (which I probably really shouldn't do) I came across an auction for "WHITE MAGNETIC HEMATITE".

I did do a search but I did not find any hematite listing with a color of white. Has anyone heard of this before?

Minderwiz

Thre are a couple of adverts for 'white hematite' jewellery on the web but not enough information is given to be definitive on what the crystal actually is.

Hematite can be grey and grey can pale towards white, so it might be some form of polished grey hematite - though I'm only guessing.

Ironwing

These are covered ("pearlized") with some kind of white iridescent coating - my guess is synthetic mica powder in acrylic resin, the same thing that is used over plastic to create cheap imitation pearls. Since they're supposedly magnetic, the beads themselves could be hematite with associated magnetite (since hematite by itself is NOT magnetic), magnetite, or plain old steel. You'd have to break open one of the beads to be sure (a mostly-hematite bead would yield a dark red powder when crushed).

Hematite can be metallic dark gray or black, submetallic reddish-gray or dark purple, or nonmetallic dark red or orange (red ochre). It is never white and cannot be made to be that way (synthetic iron oxide is red or black).

Lorena

Chronata

oh Ironwing!
I think you just solved a mystery that has eluded me for over a year!
I had found a small, almost round,rock in a rock shop in a place I used to work.
It looked definately "sub-metallic"...greyish, silverish, with a reddish tint, but not really very shiny...looked a lot like iron.

I had taken a few courses in both geology, and gemology way back when...and this rock's appearance just had me stumped.