No planets in certain houses?

Phoenix Rising

Hi guys, I'm new to astrology and am finding it intriguing. I've got my astrology chart and was curious as to find out what it means to have no planets in certain houses. Does it mean that I would need to work on these areas? There is also no opposition in leo and aquarius, both empty. Is that a good thing or not? If it makes it easier my birthday is 22 March 1969, born 05.20am, Te Awamutu, New Zealand.

isthmus nekoi

Having empty houses is pretty common. It would be impossible to see a chart w/o an empty house if you only count planets as there are 12 houses, 10 planets.

Empty houses don't indicate that the concerns of the house are absent however. See which sign cusps your empty house and also, see where the ruling planet is. For example, Virgo cusping 3rd (immediate environment, communication) would indicate to me someone who is very precise and detailed in 3rd house matters. And if their Mercury (ruler of Virgo) was well aspected and well placed, this would suggest someone who is keenly observant about their immediate surroundings, and is highly organized. If Mercury was more poorly aspected, then the person may be more highly critical, or is criticized freqently. Perhaps even gossipy, or too focused on trivial matters.

Another way empty houses will show up is when a planet transits through it. For example, Jupiter transiting 7th (partnerships) often makes ppl more optimistic towards marriage.

Minderwiz

I can't add a lot to Isthmus' excellent comments. Traditionally you would go by the sign rulers on the cusp of each House - so each House is represented by a Planet. Where that planet lies in your chart and its relationship to other planets and important points (such as the Ascendant) tell you about the affairs of that House.

If the House is occupied, then those planets will modify the interpretation in some way, through their aspects to other planets and their 'interest' in the House.