Lots of Rx

Shade

Ok so I'm just starting out on studying astrology and had something interesting come up that I thought some of the sages here would knnow much more about. I made up a natal chart on astro.com and was skimming through it when I came to the listing of where everything was when I was born. I was surprised to notice that just about ALL of my outer planets were retrograde. Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, Pluto, and my True Node (not really sure what a true node is yet) were retrograde in my chart. The only outer planet not retrograde in my chart is Mars. Any thoughts on what this could signify for a person?

dadsnook2000

Somewhat a normal situation

The outer planets are often retrograde -- a situation that occurs for 4 or more months each year for each outer planet (except for Mars) when the Sun appears to be in the opposite side of the zodiac. Mars' retrograde cycles are more variable than the those of the other outer planets due to its relative speed and closeness to Earth.

Oppositions, in a broad sense, suggest the process of gaining perspective, balancing issues (Sun meanings versus outer planet meanings), partnerships and integrating exterior values, etc.

You will need to closely examine each of the outer planets in terms of its aspectual relationship to the Sun, Moon, Mercury, Venus and even among the other outer planets. Astrology is best done by first looking at broad themes, then acute patterns that are in close orb, then other detailed factors.

Good luck. Dave.

Astraea

There is a wonderful book which addresses the issue of multiple retrograde planets in a horoscope, "Retrograde Planets" by Erin Sullivan. It was originally published by Arcana several years ago, and I understand that it has been reissued. It is not a beginning text, but it is the only one I am aware of which discusses specific combinations and numbers of retrograde planets.

Waterlily