PDA

View Full Version : polished vs. crystals

cait_inthe_moon
23-01-2005, 02:08
Is there a difference between the properties of polished stones and stones in their raw or crystal forms?

I have always wondered this, most of my stones are polished with the exception of two clear quartz crystals and an amythest cluster that I have.

Etain
24-01-2005, 03:46
Not being a true expert, I have to admit upfront that I don't really know for sure. However, it is my limited understanding that polished versus unpolished doesn't really change the properties. I have a mixture of both, use them in the same ways (except that I wear more of the polished as jewelry), and have never really noticed a difference.

I don't know it this helps or not. :confused:

cheers,
stephanie

cait_inthe_moon
24-01-2005, 13:37
it does.. i always felt that the properties stayed the same.. I was just wondering if anyone had any other thoughts on it.

September Pixie
24-01-2005, 19:16
I think there is an old thread on this subject somewhere here on the forums.. I do not personally believe there is any difference.. its the same stone after all :) I prefer more polished stones over raw unless they are beautiful geodes then of course i'd snag them ;) but over all, my vote is also 'no - no difference'

poivre
25-01-2005, 11:13
Does this mean that they all work the same?

I buy them in bookstores and put them in my purse, I have a dish at home
full of them, some in my coats, a dish in the bathroom for decoration & some at work.
I buy them because it's just a thing I do when I pick up cards or a book.
I just like them but don't do anything with them.

rabble
26-01-2005, 09:49
I would say that they might do the same thing, but that we might not use them in the same way :)

Shade
26-01-2005, 11:59
I worked at a store that sold a lot of crystals both cut polished and "raw". There isn't any hard fast rule that I saw in this arena, people are drawn to what they like.