Amethyst

psychic sue

Hello all.

Amethyst is my birth stone, and all shades of purple my favourite colours.

I feel drawn to this stone at the moment - I fixed one to the end of my wand, by instinct really.

Can anyone give me any info on this stone, as I am new to crystals, stones, herbs etc.

All info greatly appreciated,

Sue x

Emeraldgirl

Hi Sue,

Amethyst is mt birthstone also and a personal fav (I blew my budget 2 days ago on a big sphere mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm sphere *drool*.)

Amethyst is a form of quartz. Amethyst has been recognized for many centuries as a healing stone. Indeed, the Romans believed that if they drank their Wine from goblets wrought from the stone that they would be protected from drunkenness.... There is an Roman/Greek myth that Amethyst's origin that resides with the god Dionysus (Bacchus) and the goddess Diana. Dionysus, the god of wine, celebration, intoxication and joviality, found insult by a mortal who had refused him acknowledgement. Enraged with anger Dionysus vowed to unleash his fury upon all mortals who did not partake in his gifts of wine and drunkenness. He immediately spotted a young maiden named Amethyst who was pure and unfamiliar with being intoxicated. The unsuspecting young virgin, who was on her way to pay homage to the goddess Diana, was detained by the wrathful god. Dionysus summoned two fiercely voracious tigers to devour the youth and sat back with his wine to watch. Amethyst cried out to Diana. When Diana saw what was about to transpire she quickly transformed the young mortal into a glimmering pure white stone (quartz) to protect her from the vicious wrath of Dionysus. Moved with pity Dionysus realized the ruthlessness of his actions and began to weep with sorrow. As the tears dripped into his goblet Dionysus collapsed and the tear-tainted wine ran out onto the stone from the tipped cup. The white stone then absorbed the color from the wine creating the stone now called amethyst.