Reflections and Opinions on the Process of Reading by a Tarot (A)gnostic.

firemaiden

When I was brand spanking new to this site, I was also new to tarot, as well as to matters occult, or spiritual, and I posted blind, heretical questions, without fear.

I did not know enough to worry about upsetting people with subversive questions like "does tarot actually work?", or "do you have to believe in tarot in order for it to work" - (a thread I began, inadvertently starting a sort of flame war, sorry!).

But I've been poking obsessively around this site now for what, three years? And I find some of my reservations are not going away. And I thought I owed it to you all to honestly share these thoughts.

It occurred to me there is a sense in which I do not think tarot of itself does actually "work" -- at least not always.

(but what does "working” mean?)

As much as I have seen ball-busting holey-moley-yes-virginia-there-is-a-God readings, I have also seen enough readings which were completely off-the mark and irrelevant... to observe that it is *not* a given that something meaningful or relevant can be learned by simply shuffling the cards and throwing them down onto the table.

I am not one who can accept the idea that something divine "arranges" the cards meaningfully, or even that "synchronicity" is at work, in preparing exactly the perfect message. Yes, I do believe that there can be such a thing as "the wrong cards" thrown onto the table.

At the same time, I concede that it is useful to accept the premise of "synchonicity" -- otherwise one could never settle on a throw, and would be continually reshuffling, looking for the "right cards" -- or even, would just go through the deck open faced and choose them.

My personal view, is that the cards in a throw offer *possibilities* and only possibilities. When I turn over a card, I consider it to be the seed of a thought, and am interested to see what those seeds can grow into.