How long did it take before you felt confident?

Little Baron

I have been learning the tarot for about eight years; however, I have had breaks in that time, and months when I didn't pick the cards up, due to being busy with other things.

I was talking to a friend about it last night and he said he thought I should get out there and start reading for people. He said that as well as it probably helping with my tarot journey, it would also be useful to bring in a little extra pocket money.

I have accumilated a lot of knowledge about the tarot over the years, but sometimes, I find it hard to access it - and that is when my mind goes blank and I lose confidence. I would love to read professionally, but I still feel that I am not good enough of a reader. My friend says that if I continue to keep putting it off so that I can study and practice, I will never make the move forward.

When did you feel ready to start reading professionally? When or what was it that suddenl clicked and you realised that you were good at reading the cards? What were your first experiences like? Did you click much later, way after you had started reading professionally? Do you think that reading professionally aided your study and knowledge of the cards?

LB

MareSaturni

I don't read professionally, as i have even less time of Tarot than you - a bit more than 4 years. So i'm curious about the answers...some people take so long to have confidence, while some move forward very quickly.

I know i'm a part of the slow group...it'll take many years before i dare. When i read i still need a book near by just in case. No good for a professional.

Thanks for starting this thread!

:TWP Yuko

Fulgour

...at the beginning.

My biggest hurdle was to get over feeling that people deserved
to hear the standard meanings, as if the cards had such things.
Once I began giving readings and knew I knew more than books,
the feeling of it being right came through. You need to begin...

Little Baron