why are the houses different sizes...

Grigori

I had a couple charts drawn up on alabe.com and it seems the houses are not all the same size. E.g. the one I'm studying now (and comparing to others) has very large houses 1-3, and 7-8, but 4-6 and 10 -12 are very skinny.

Why is that? Does it tell me something about when or where a person was born? Does it mean anything? Or is a glitch?

Moongold

Similia ~

There are different systems of Houses, but essentially I think there are always 12 (except maybe in Vedic astronomy?).

The most common are Placidus and Koch. Perhaps sometimes they may be enlarged on particular charts if there are a lot of planets in the House (so they can fit them all in) but I am not sure of that.

Houses are fields of human experience in astrological charts. I think they are more figurative than real.

Why not do asearch on the Internet? You'll find a lot of information there as well.

Don't worry ..... you can't be houseless!

Moongold

Gerbear

Each house in the zodiac covers thirty degrees in the sky. The constellations that symbolize these areas are the best fit found, some smaller and some larger.

isthmus nekoi

I don't know about Koch, but Placidus has unequal house size due to the tilt of the earth...

The MC you'll notice has a growing tilt in charts the further you move from the equator - that's b/c of the dif b/w it and the ASC.

The ASC is where the eastern horizon intersects the ecliptic (the "sun's orbit" around the earth - quotations b/c the sun doesn't actually orbit around the earth). As you move away from the equator, the angles move away from 90 degrees, getting closer together or further apart depending on the season. However, the ASC is always traditionally shown as a flat line, so it's the MC that's tilted.

Minderwiz's explanation is probably better - take note, my first explanation is incorrect! http://www.tarotforum.net/showthread.php?t=46576&highlight=tilt