Quartz

wisteria

How do you differentiate between a real and fake quartz? I bought a string of mixed colour chipped quartz from my nearby bead shop. It has purple, green, light blue and light yellow brown chipped quartx stones when i washed them using sea salt + waterin a basin, some of the quartz had their colour washed off except the green one. I think I was cheated.

jumptothemoonyea

Hi wisteria, I am not an expert, still would recommend to go to a rock/crystal museum, fairs, shops and get a feeling for the crystals. Compare them from place to place. Pretty soon you'll have a good idea how quartz feels. Clear, rose, green, blue, smoky quartz.

Bluemanticore

Wisteria, another good idea is to do some reading, particularly regarding the different names some minerals are given. Some are labeled one thing when they are really something else. For example, Smoky Topaz is another name for Quartz. Or what might be called Swiss Jade is really just dyed jasper. Get to know these names so you don't get fooled into buying one stone thinking it is something else.

feticeira

There´s blue quartz? That´s a new one for me, I´ve never seen or heard about it. For blue stones I usually think of lapis, chrysocolla or aquamarine.

Ruby7

There is no natural blue quartz. Any quartz that is a true blue has been dyed or treated in some other fashion.

All the best,
Ruby7

Bluemanticore

I did a bit of research bookwise and here's what I found in "Encyclopedia of Minerals." Quartz comes naturally in a wide variety, they being:

BLUE QUARTZ: Pale blue, grayish blue to lavender blue. Translucent. Somewhat chatoyant.

Rock Crystal: colorless, transparent.

Amethyst: various shades of purple or violet.

Citrine: pale yellow, yellow, yellow-brown, reddish brown. Transparent to translucent. Often erroneously called "topaz."

Smoky quartz: pale smoky brown to almost black. Transparent to nearly opaque. Also called cairngorm or morion.