More about Oracle Readings?

Forty-six and Two

I'm quite confused as to how one does an Oracle reading. Can anybody explain the principle to me?

a_shikhs

Hi Forty-six and two,
could you be a little more specific as to your question.. Oracle decks are somewhat like tarot decks. They are easily available in book shops. Oracle readings are simpler than tarot readings. Tarot gives you answers to your questions and how to react with problems. But oracle is based more on advices. You read oracle cards the same way as tarot cards. I mean you shuffle the cards, ask a question, remove a number of cards and connect them all and read.. Hope this helped... :)

Forty-six and Two

Ok thanks, it just seemed that they were more complex or something. I'm under the impression that they're less structured as there's no suits or the like. Am I mislead or is this the case? Do they often come with accompanying books for clarification? (I'm a novice at all this, so I need the help I can get)
Thanks again

a_shikhs

Yes they do come with small booklets that explain the meaning of each card in detail. Oracle cards are simpler to read as compared to tarot cards. But you cant ask complex questions while using oracle cards. They are more for the spiritual level and your inner self and guidance...

Dancing Bear

Try having a look at the oracle readings posted here, it will give you an idea as to what they are about. all oracles have something to offer. i have Medicine cards, Mlle Lenormande. Both are fantastic. The medicine cards are more for self reflection rather than possible events that may happen.
Where as Lenormande are to do with events thats may happen.
both you can use Tarots spreads. some may not work you just need to experiment. The medicine cards came with a book that is very informantive, giving you meanings behind the cards and the sources of creation. Mlle lenormand only came with a paper booklet with basic meanings and an example reading and you wing it from there.