I'm a bit confused

pickled pixie

Hello,
I am a beginner in the art of Tarot and am currently using The Fey Tarot. Last night whilst studying the cards I just couldnt understand the meaning of a few of the cards (going by the fey book) and didnt know how to incorporate the cards into readings, so I looked in a universal Tarot book only to find that alot of the cards appeared to have different meanings to that of the fey book! So does this means that all Decks have different meanings to the cards??? and excuse this question if it's really daft but why when looking at the meanings of the cards do they have a few ie truth,courage,security...when doing a reading is it ALL of those things or just one? I'm starting to feel a bit lost in it all tbh?
Also some cards I have a real connection with and others are completely blank for me!
Thanks for reading

PP xxx

rash212

Dear pickled pixie,

Yes, its true alot of books will give you alot of different meanings and different perspectives to one single card:), the best is to see which meaning you feel fits fine for you at that particular moment!

In my personal experience, maybe one meaning might be right for that particular reading and may change completely in the next reading!

****It really all depends on the question and where the card is in the layout.

Ultimately, let your intuition guide you!!!

All the best!!!!!!

firecatpickles

I was getting frustrated as well. Look at the little brown book that comes with the Dali deck sometime! Numbers are reversed, poor English translations, etc.

I wish I could find the quote here that I read just last night. (Whoever it was, please speak up) But they said "throw our everything you have been taught about tarot" and make up your own mind, something like that.