How Do You Respond to Skeptics and Non-Believers?

pleroma

I just joined this forum and want to introduce myself before I ask my question. I recently began serious amateur study of the tarot in the last six months. I have dabbled in the tarot since i was 12 or so and had become increasingly intrigued and amazed by the wisdom of the cards. I am a college student and began seriously exploring the body of literature on the tarot this past summer while i was unemployed, wanting to exlopre its history and esoteric teachings to deepen my appreciation of and skill with the cards. I find the tarot to be an amazing tool for introspection and personal and spiritual growth. As I delve deeper into the mysteries of the tarot my enthusiasim for it grows, I want more and more to share this newly rediscovered passion of mine with others.

So my question is this, as a 20 year old gay philosophy student at an expensive liberal arts school outside of New York City full of hipsters and artists, i find spirituality, especially something such as tarot which is often percieved as 'new age', to be met with skepticism and unease. Some friends are open to the idea but are taken aback when they observe the solemn and open manner with which i approach the tarot. So i wonder, how can i share the tarot with people in a way that will open their minds to the tarot instead of seeing me as kooky? How do you deal with this problem? And how did you find your local tarot communitie or groups of other likeminded individuals who shared your belief in the cards?

namesoftrees

Hello Pleroma,

it's really nice to meet you. That is a great introduction and one I suspect that will have loads of people commenting and identifying with.

Well, my answer, is that people are overwhelmed by fear, instead of acknowledging fear and using it as an impulse to grow.

Why be afraid you might say? But people seem to be innately afraid of anything new or anything that is an unknown.