Providing information beyond responses to questions...

abella

I have been seeing professionals post the type of cards they are reading, the actual images, the layout used, the actual card and the explanation. I'm not talking about "reading exchanges" where professionals might be teaching each other/showcasing their personal style. I'm talking about paid readings.

What I'm wondering is: Are these professionals teaching the seekers? Okay, okay, that's probably not what is intended. And I figure the idea is to give the seeker some form of interaction and further understanding.

But if we, as professionals, are sharing such information why does the seeker need to bother getting a reading from us. Why not pick up a set of cards and a book and just "go to it"? Perhaps I'm being cynical, perhaps I'm concerned for the industry, and I certainly don't want to offend...

Why would a professional teach the craft to seekers who are just asking us questions? As a professional, I might actually like such a reading as I could scope out the competition. :)

When I give a reading, I write it almost like a story and don't mention the actual cards pulled, the layout used, or anything like that. I just answer people's questions and wrap it up with a summary statement. :)

Curious...

(please keep in mind which forum I'm posting in and that I'm looking at the industry as a whole i.e. there is no money in no mystery! ;-)

Apollonia

Hi, Abella! I've enjoyed reading your posts in other threads.