Confused

bella71

Hi Guys,

I hope you can help me. I am new to tarot and joined up last week and cant wait to get my deck and book and start up,now i have a question to ask and hope that it's not stupid.
My sister has told me that it's very bad luck to buy my own deck and i told her that i read it somewhere that it's just a myth, now is it or isn't it bad luck to buy my own deck?.
Thank you

Shaymus

There's as many folklore tales around Tarot as Kraft has foodstuffs. I have had nothing but joy and satisfaction with the Tarot, and I bought my own first deck, and every deck since then. Just like you'll hear the "proper" methods on shuffling, cutting, etc etc etc....it's what ever feels right to you. So, don't worry about it, you'll love it. Study and use the deck a lot.

Shaymus

WalesWoman

I think it's probably worse luck to wait for someone to give you a deck before you learn Tarot, unless you have a fairy godmother. You may wait for a long long time.

Pay no attention to superstitions and old wives tales, except perhaps the one about walking under ladders. I think it might be bad luck to be standing behind someone throwing salt over their shoulder too.

kerri28

Or you could give your sister the money and show her which deck you'd like her to buy you!lol

fairyhedgehog

Definitely buy yourself a deck :) I bought my own first deck (the Hanson-Roberts) and it was exactly right for me. It was a faithful friend all through the early learning process and I still turn to it at times when I get stuck.

I've only been given one deck: the Glastonbury. I really don't click with it. I only keep it because my husband gave it to me and I appreciate him giving it to me since he finds my love of tarot to be incomprehensible (and vaguely disturbing, I suspect). If that was my only or first deck, I would have given up on tarot very quickly!

gregory

You do what feels good for you. And being without a deck doesn't feel good to anyone. :D