Fewer In-Store Choices...

Orlando

Living in the New York City area of North East New Jersey, the most popular large chain bookstores are Barnes & Noble and Borders. While B&N has always offered only a small selection of in store Tarot decks for sale, Borders usually stocks a surprising variety of them--although sometimes behind the doors of locked display units, making it difficult for browsing. In any event, during the past year, I have noticed a steady reduction of Borders in-store Tarot decks, with a simultaneous increase in more New Age-y oracular card systems. While not disparaging those oracular decks in any way, I find this trend disappointing. Curious to know if anyone else has noticed the same trend and have any ideas as to why this is happening...

Annabelle

While I have no experience shopping in Borders, I have noticed this trend in my local Barnes & Noble and Hastings stores.

They used to carry an average range of tarot decks - all the usual suspects were there - Thoth, Rider-Waite, Hanson-Roberts, Aquarian, Cat People, and a variety of recent decks. Lately, though (by lately I mean specifically in the past 6 to 9 months) they've carried fewer and fewer tarot decks, and have added increasing numbers of Doreen Virtue oracle decks, angel oracles, and other oracles.

Why the change? Maybe the oracle decks are better sellers . . . maybe people are less likely to steal them. Maybe the profit margin is better. Maybe the buyers for the large chain stores think the oracle decks look really cool, and so they keep ordering more. Who knows?

I'm not happy about the trend at all, but there's not much I can do about it beyond continuing to buy tarot decks from stores in my area, so that they'll know someone is interested in them.

tell me about it